• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Oil Leaking To Radiater

LancerL

Dear friends, another trouble :sad-smiley-050: when I went to garage for some other work on yesterday, mechanic has check the water level on radiator and said that the oil has mixed on to the water, I too checked and the water level was bit low and there were oil on the radiator cap and inside also. He asked me to start the engine to verify it and show me some bubbles coming out from the on radiator with tiny brown oil drops and said that my gasket has gone and need to replace it. So I asked is it a big job, hence I'm a layman for these things. He said to do that, has to remove the entire head!!! but it's better to sale this car out rather repairing. He didn't even mention the cost for the repair.

My care is a Lancer L Light module 9Sri with 1200CC Saturn Engine.

Dear friends, kindly help me with followings hence I was so worried after hearing that and couldn’t think what to do..

1. What he said was true?

2. Is it something that cannot fix or not long lasting after fixed even?

3. How much will it cost roughly (Please mention the Spares and Labour separately)

4. Do I really have to sell my car due to this?

Thanks in advance..

Sorry for the long explanation.

Mahesh

Yes all indicate that your headgasket is the culprit. Thats not a BIG repair. no need to sell the car just because of that. Not an expensive job as well. sorry its hard to suggest the cost. Take her to a good mechanic. Thats a half day job with few tea breaks>

MINIACE

• Like 1