• Welcome to AutoLanka

:action-smiley-028: We found you speeding on AutoLanka Forums without any registration! If you want the best experience, please sign in. Safe driving! 

Converted B4 From Auto To Manual

mad123456

Dear All,

I am a newbie to the Subaru world , but i have driven and am driving different other vehicles and models.

my question is , i am planning to buy a 2000 B4 Auto which has been converted to Manual , as per my little knowledge the car is in good condition , mileage is 160K , non turbo 2000cc , asking LKR 16.50 Million

but i have a few concern

01. is it good to go for a converted Subi ?

02. can i take this to Senok or B.R.J.W. Enterprises for a check up , as Senok told they can do it FOC and BRJW has asked for 5K, money is not the problem but which place is good ? open question as i don't want to go around the bush.

03. Personal opinion of the people who are using the said car.

Your valuable answers are welcome.

Signing off

Boodi

Edited by mad123456

The conversion here is fairly mild. As long as it was a full conversion where the gearbox, mounts, gear linkage, shifter, ECU and the instrument cluster was changed, then it should be ok. Make sure the change was noted in the registration document, else you might have issues in the future.

Its not illegal to convert from auto to manual, you just have to record it. The process, you should inquire from the RMV.

The driving experience, well I assume you are buying a B4 because you know what it is. The twin turbo has noticeable turbo lag, the ride is a bit harsh (sporty) and performance is delivered at the price of fuel economy (which is true of all performance cars).

And if you need an opinion on the car itself take it to Senok.